Oct 312012
 

Print Page
The Bulk Delete process allows users to remove selected content from their courses. The Bulk Delete process can be used to remove content no longer needed within a course shell.


This process is irreversible, once content is removed, you cannot retrieve it.

To remove ALL content it’s  a 3 step process.

Step 1: Bulk Delete:

  • From the Control Panel
  • Select Packages and Utilities
  • Select Bulk Delete
  • Select Content Materials to Delete
    • Select the check box(es) for the materials you want to delete
      Note: Select all check boxes if cleaning out the course shell completely.
  • Select Other Materials to Delete
    • Select the check boxes for the other materials, you want to delete
    • Do Not check Users
      Important Note: If you select Users all current users will be removed from the course and WILL NOT repopulate. To get students back you will need to contact the Distance and Online Learning Help Desk as this is not an automatic programmed process. DL Staff will need to work with ITS to get students back into the course.
  • Confirmation
    • Enter Delete in the text box (you must use a capital “D”)
  • Select Submit
  • A green confirmation bar appears: “Success: Bulk Delete operation completed.”
  • Course Menu items will remain

Step 2: Delete Files:

  • From the Control Panel
  • Select Content Collection
  • Select the Course Name (ex. Fall_2014_ARTS_101_300)
  • Select the upper most check box (located next to the File Type column header) to Select All Files
  • Select the Delete button
  • A confirmation pop-up message appears, to continue deletion select OK, to end deletion select Cancel
  • A green confirmation bar appears: “Success: Items deleted.
  • Select All Content Option in Content Collection

Step 3: Delete Course Menu Items:
Prevents duplicate course menu items on new course import.

Important Note: You may want to delete course menu items from the bottom up so the Announcements link stays on top and you do not end up with a Web Link that can prevent you from accessing your course. If this happens please see the following tutorial to re-access your course, * Help! Course Entry Point Stuck on a Web Link page (HVCC WebMail).

  • Select the Down arrow next to the course menu item
  • Select Delete to remove the item
  • A confirmation pop-up message appears, to continue deletion select Delete Content, to end deletion select Cancel, or select Hide the Link to hide the item from students
  • If you select Delete Content, another confirmation pop-up message appears, to continue deletion select Delete, to end deletion select Cancel
 October 31, 2012  Posted by at 11:13 am Packages and Utilities