Nov 292012
 

Print Page
Flickr is an online photo management and sharing website, for more information please visit, http://www.flickr.com/about/. If you plan to use this feature with your own photographs and images you may want to review their Terms of Service and Your Privacy areas as well.

Set Edit Mode to ON to perform these functions.


Create Flickr Mashup


  • From Build Content
  • Select Flickr Photo
  • Search for a Flickr Photo page appears
    • The search returns photos only.
    • To search for available shared photos/images:
      • Select criteria from the Search: drop down menu
      • Enter your search information in the Keywords: field
      • Select criteria from the “All of the words” drop down menu
      • Select More Options to narrow down search results further
      • Select Go
    • To search for your own photos/images on Flickr:
      • From the Search: drop down menu: select Specific Photo (URL)
      • For Keywords: Enter or paste your image URL
        • To obtain your image URL, open your image in Flickr and copy the web address link
        • Important Note: Specific photos you want to use need to have Owner Settings set to Anyone (public)
      • Select Go to view your search results
  • Choose the Select button for the image you want to add
  • Add Flickr Content to Course
    • Edit or Enter a Name in the Name field
    • Enter content/information in the Description field
  • Mashup Options
    • View: Choose either Thumbnail or Embed from the drop down menu. 
      • Thumbnail will show a small size of the image and when View Link is selected the full size image will appear.
      • Embed will display the full size photo directly within the Blackboard page.
    • Size: Select the size of the image to use from the drop down menu. Note: Large and Original sized images may not exist for all photos.
    • Show Flickr URL:
      • Select Yes to display the original URL (web address) for the image on Flickr.
      • Select No to not display the original URL.
    • Show Flickr Information:
      • Select Yes to display the available image information: original User, Added, Taken, Last Updated, Tags, License information.
      • Select No to not display this information.
  • Attach or Link Content (Optional)
    • Select Browse My Computer or Browse Course to locate and select a file to attach
      • To attach another file: select Browse My Computer or Browse Course again to locate and select a file
      • To remove a file: select Do not attach, located next to an attached file
    • Optional: By default your file name will display to users, to specify a title:
      • Locate the Link Title column, click in the text box and enter a new link title
  • Standard Options
    • Permit Users to View this Content: Choose Yes to make the item available to students. Choose No to make the item unavailable to students
    • Track Number of Views: Choose Yes to record the number of times the item is viewed, when it is viewed and by whom
    • Select Date and Time Restrictions: Choose theDisplay After date/time and/or the Display Until date/time
  • Select Preview to view display settings before submitting
    • To edit display settings, select Back
  • When finished, select Submit
  • A green confirmation bar appears: “Success: Title of photo Added.

Edit Flickr Content


  • Select the Down arrow next to the Flickr content title you want to edit
  • Select Edit
  • Information
    • Make changes to the Name field
    • Make changes to the Description field
  • Attach or Link Content
    • Add attached files, see above Create Flickr Mashup, 3: Attach or Link Content
      • To remove a file: select Mark for removal, located next to an attached file
  • Standard Options
    • Make any changes to Availability, Track Number of Views, Display After date/time, and/or Display Until date/time
  • Select Submit
  • A green confirmation bar appears: “Success: title of photo edited.

Delete Flickr Content


This action is irreversible.

  • Select the Down arrow next to the Flickr content title you want to delete
  • Select Delete
  • A confirmation pop-up message appears, to continue deletion select OK, to end deletion select Cancel
  • A green confirmation bar appears: “Success: title of photo deleted.
 November 29, 2012  Posted by at 1:25 pm Build Content, Course Content and Tools, Mashups