Jul 312014
 

Print Page
The Student Preview function allows you to view a course/organization from the perspective of a student. You can experience the following activities when student preview mode is turn on in course: Submit Assignments, Take Tests, Create Discussion Posts, Create Journal and Blog Entries, View My Grades, and much more.

This tool is helpful because often times the Faculty/Staff view of a course/organization is different than that of a student/participant and it’s helpful to see what users are really seeing or not.

Student Preview mode is different than Edit Mode – student preview mode allows you to interact with course tools and content; while edit mode gives you access to the tools needed for adding, editing, deleting, etc. tools and content.


Locate the Enter Student Preview Function


The Enter Student Preview icon appears by the Edit Mode function. Both are located in the upper right corner of any course or organization were you have a instructor or leader privileges.

Note: If you haven’t used the Student Preview function the icon will appear greyed out. If you have used Student Preview mode the icon appears highlighted.

Enter Preview Mode


Using the Enter Student Preview Function


  • From within a course/organization
  • Select the Enter Student Preview Mode Enter Student Preview iconicon to start the function
  • A goldenrod status bar appears indicating that Student Preview mode is ON. This bar remains visible as long as you are in the preview mode.
    • Student Preview On
  • Once Preview Student mode is ON, select the Settings button to figure your account
    • Student Preview Mode Settings
  • From the Student Preview Settings window choose one of the following options:
    Note: When you Enter Preview User mode a user account is automatically created on the system so you can interact with content and activities like a student would therefore, Blackboard has provided options for either saving this data or deleting it.

    • Delete the preview user and all data – one time use, use the preview mode, leave it and delete all data
    • Keep the preview user and all data – for continued use, take tests, submit assignments, and all data is recorded and can be accessed at a later date (functions most like the student accounts we had previously)
    • To save your settings – select the check box for Do not ask me about the preview user when exiting student preview or uncheck to be prompted each time you enter student preview mode.
    • Select the Save button to record your settings
    • Student Preview Settings window
  • Now, navigate through your course/organization as a student by submitting assignments, taking tests, viewing grades, viewing content, etc.

Exiting Student Preview and Saving Data


  • From the Student Preview mode is ON status bar
  • Select the Exit Preview button
    • Exit Student Preview
  • If prompted by the Student Preview Settings window, choose one of the following options:
    • Delete the preview user and all data – one time use, use the preview mode, leave it and delete all data
    • Keep the preview user and all data – for continued use, take tests, submit assignments, and all data is recorded and can be accessed at a later date (functions most like the student accounts we had previously)
    • To save your settings – select the check box for Do not ask me about the preview user when exiting student preview or uncheck to be prompted each time you enter student preview mode.
    • Select the Save button to record your settings
  • The goldenrod status bar disappears and you are now back in instructor/leader view of your course/organization
 July 31, 2014  Posted by at 10:13 am Course User Management, Prepare Your Course for Term